The knowledge of death


Once upon a time, I met a beautiful olive-skinned lady with a lovely crooked dimpled smile, a flowing mane of black hair framing her happy heart-shaped face. Her eyes twinkled as she talked and on her face, one could clearly notice the blush and rush of being a new bride. She was both open and mysterious, excited and calm, frank but still guarded. She was 21, and looking at her, talking to her, I would never have known she was going to be dead in less than 6 months. 

She got married in January and was diagnosed in February. Sun was beginning to set while we talked and I asked her “how does it feel”, it was a truly stupid question but the answer she gave me has stayed with me. She smiled, closed her eyes and went:

“The difference between you and me is that I know when I am dying, you don’t know that. I am lucky. Having cancer is not, no, but I will do the important things because I know. I don’t know if other people who have cancer find this knowledge comforting, but I do, I forget I have cancer, I only think about how I am lucky to know when I am leaving this world. We all have to die anyway, people like me just have a clear idea of when”.

Author: Rabail Jehan

Passion for neuropsychology and research, interested in Business and Accounting, with Rock Climbing and Hiking as side hobbies. I am a 21 year old lady definitely NOT living in my mom's basement. This Blog is about anything and everything. You will see the serious side of me, funny side of me, random side of me and sometimes (I hope not always) the boring side of me. Makeup, politics, entertainment, current affairs, family and music you name it. I am thrilled to be a part of such an amazing blogging family and I appreciate ANY suggestions and constructive criticism. This is for you. Currently in the process of setting up a multi-service business. When I strike rich (soon!) Ill start giveaways too, watch out!! *wink wink*

2 thoughts on “The knowledge of death”

  1. Nothing quite brings out the zest for life in a person like the thought of their impending death. The music echoes in the emptiness. It reminds us where we came from and where we’re bound.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

